Multiple Accounts and App Sharing on Oculus Quest 2


Multiple Accounts

With Quest 2, you can add up to three additional accounts to your device. The admin account on the device can add additional accounts in-VR. All accounts will need to login with Facebook to have their own unique account and profile.

How do they work?

Additional accounts will be able to install and use apps that they have purchased from the Oculus Store, as well as apps purchased by the admin account if app sharing is turned on. Additional accounts can save their own app progress, media files and make use of social platform features like Parties, Leaderboards and Achievements, as well as creating and customizing their own avatar. Apps installed by additional accounts won’t take up extra storage space on the device if the admin account already has the app installed.

Privacy

Each account on a device has its own information stored separately. Accounts on a device do not have access to the information stored on other accounts, including:

  • In-game progress

  • High scores

  • In-app settings

Was this answer helpful?

To add additional accounts to your Quest 2:

  1. Select Settings from the navigation bar at the bottom.

  2. Select Experimental features, then select Multiple Accounts and Library Sharing.

    • Turning on this feature will add an Accounts option in the Settings sidebar.

  3. Select Accounts from the Settings sidebar, then select Add Account.

  4. Follow the on-screen instructions to set up a device unlock code, then hand the headset to the other person to add their account to your headset. They will be guided through the initial setup including logging into Facebook, adjusting headset fit, and setting up Guardian.

Note: When you turn on this feature in your experimental settings, you can still log in to multiple devices at the same time. However, you will then be prevented from using the same account to run the same app across multiple devices simultaneously.

Was this answer helpful?

Removing an account from a device will also remove that account’s data from the device.

To remove additional accounts from a device:

  1. Select Settings from the navigation bar at the bottom, then select Accounts.

  2. Select Remove next to the account you wish to remove, then select Remove again to confirm.

To remove yourself as an additional account from a device using the Oculus website:

  1. Log in to https://secure.oculus.com/my/devices.

  2. Under Shared with Me, click Remove myself from this device.

Was this answer helpful?

If you want to change the admin account on your Oculus Quest 2, you will need to factory reset your device. Keep in mind, this wipes everything off your device and returns it to the software state that it was in when you first took it out of the box.

Was this answer helpful?

App Sharing

With Oculus Quest 2, you can share eligible apps with additional accounts on your device. Additional accounts can only access shared apps on the device where app sharing is turned on.

How does it work?

Currently, an admin account can only share apps on one device. You can switch which device has App Sharing turned on by following these directions.

Additional accounts can purchase their own apps, but those apps will not be shared with other accounts on the device. If you log into another device as an additional account, you will have access to all the apps and experiences you’ve purchased.

Was this answer helpful?

Once you’ve turned on Multiple Accounts for your Quest 2, you can share eligible apps from your admin account with additional accounts on the device by turning on App Sharing.

To turn on App Sharing from your device:

  1. Select Settings from the navigation bar at the bottom.

  2. Select Accounts from the Settings sidebar.

  3. Select the toggle next to App Sharing to turn on App Sharing.

Was this answer helpful?

To change the headset you have App Sharing turned on for, the admin account needs to turn off App Sharing on the current device and then turn on App Sharing on the new device.

To turn App Sharing on or off

  1. Select Settings from the navigation bar at the bottom.

  2. Select Accounts from the Settings sidebar.

  3. Select the toggle next to App Sharing to turn App Sharing on or off.

Note: If you have trouble accessing your device or turning off App Sharing, please contact customer support.

Was this answer helpful?