If you want to change accounts on your Oculus Quest, run into problems with your headset or if you want to clear all of your data off of the headset, you can do a factory reset. This wipes everything off your Oculus Quest, and returns it to the software state that it was in when you first took it out of the box.

To perform a factory reset using your phone:

  1. Open the Oculus app on the phone connected to your Oculus Quest headset.
  2. Tap Settings in the bottom menu.
  3. Tap the headset connected to your phone.
  4. Tap More Settings.
  5. Tap Factory Reset and then Reset.
  6. Log in to the Oculus app with the account you'd like to connect to your Oculus Quest headset and set your device up from scratch.

Note: You can only perform a factory reset of your Oculus Quest using your phone if you have access to the account that is connected to your Oculus Quest.

To perform a factory reset using the headset:

  1. Turn off your Oculus Quest.
  2. Hold the power and volume (-) button on your headset down simultaneously until the boot screen loads on your headset.
  3. Use the volume buttons on your headset to highlight Factory Reset and press the power button.
  4. Use the volume buttons on your headset to highlight Yes and press the power button.
  5. Log in to the Oculus app with the account you'd like to connect to your Oculus Quest headset and set your device up from scratch.

If you have trouble turning your Quest back on after the reset, hold down the power button for 30 seconds.

Notes:

  • Performing a factory reset on your Oculus Quest is irreversible and will remove all account information, device data, downloaded games, and content from the device.
  • Performing a factory reset won't remove content you've purchased or downloaded from your Oculus account, and can be re-downloaded to your device.
Was this answer helpful?