Starting in October 2020:
Starting In January 2023:
All future unreleased Oculus devices will require a Facebook account, even if you already have an Oculus account.
Oculus is owned by Facebook and is one of Facebook’s apps and technologies. Using a Facebook account provides a single way to log into Oculus devices and makes it easier to find, connect and play with friends in VR. It also enables Facebook-powered social experiences, like live streaming gameplay to your Facebook timeline, making calls with parties, joining events, and exploring new experiences like Facebook Horizon. And as Facebook adds new privacy and safety tools, they can be added in VR too.
Some examples of social features that Facebook provides on Oculus include:
Yes. If you already have a unique username from your Oculus account, you will be able to continue using that username in VR. For example: you might be Monique Smith on Facebook, but WarriorMama365 in VR.
If you don’t have a VR username, you’ll be able to create one when you set up your profile for VR.
No. If you log into your Oculus device with your Facebook account, you can choose what information about your VR activity you post to your Facebook profile or timeline, either by giving permission to post or by updating your settings. If you are an existing user and you choose not to merge your Oculus account and Facebook account, you will not have access to Facebook-powered social features and you will not be able to post your VR activity to your Facebook profile or timeline.
Yes. Oculus Quest 2 and future Oculus devices will require a Facebook account.
Yes, the Oculus account changes are applicable to all countries where Oculus devices have been sold.
If you merge your Facebook and Oculus accounts, it means that you will no longer have a standalone Oculus account and will now use your Facebook account to log into your Oculus device.
Once you merge your Oculus account and your Facebook account, you won’t be able to unmerge them. After your accounts are merged, you’ll use your Facebook login for Oculus, but you’ll still be able to create or maintain a distinct profile for VR experiences with a username you select.
If you choose to merge your accounts, we’ll use information about how you use Oculus and Facebook for purposes such as:
Yes. If you choose not to merge your accounts at that point, you will no longer be logged in with Facebook on Oculus, and you’ll lose access to Facebook-powered social features. As we update and launch new features, some of these features won't be available to you.
Additionally, all future unreleased Oculus devices, including Oculus Quest 2, will require a Facebook account, even if you already have an Oculus account.
No. Once the accounts are merged, this cannot be reversed and you'll be required to use your Facebook account on all of your Oculus devices.
Previously, if you connected your Oculus and Facebook accounts you could later choose to disconnect them. When you disconnected your accounts you would lose access to Facebook-powered social features and go back to having two separate accounts, one for Oculus and one for Facebook.
Now, if you merge your Oculus account and your Facebook account, you won’t be able to unmerge them. Once you merge the accounts, you’ll only be able to log into your Oculus devices with your Facebook account. You'll still have access to the same apps, games and Facebook-powered social VR features that you did before.
You can visit My Privacy Center to learn more about your Oculus privacy settings and how and where to change them, view your information, download your information, and delete your Oculus account.
You can update and manage your privacy settings in the Oculus application on your computer if you have an Oculus Rift or Rift S and on the Oculus mobile app if you have an Oculus Quest, Go or Gear VR, as well as in your Oculus headset for all devices.
You can also learn more about your Facebook privacy settings and data rights and how to exercise them in the Facebook Data Policy and through your Facebook settings.
Yes, you'll still be able to have friends in VR that are separate from your Facebook friends.
Yes. You can control whether or not people can search for you in VR by your Facebook name in your privacy settings. To view your privacy settings:
To control who can see your info using the Oculus app on your phone:
To control who can see your info using the Oculus app on your PC computer:
To control who can see your info using the app on your Samsung Android phone:
When you log into your Oculus device with your Facebook account or merge your Oculus and Facebook accounts, we'll use information related to your use of Oculus and Facebook for purposes such as:
Examples of the information we use include:
Yes. Facebook will use information related to your use of VR and other Facebook products to show you personalized content, including ads, across Facebook products. This could include recommendations for Oculus Events you might like, ads about Facebook apps and technologies, or ads from developers for their VR apps. You can update your interests, choose what Facebook information we use to show you ads and adjust your general ad settings by going to your Ad Preferences page.
We do not currently display ads in Oculus devices.
No. Even if you don’t log into your Oculus device using your Facebook account, we will use your VR information to create a consistent and safer experience across Facebook apps and technologies. For example, taking action on an Oculus account if it is flagged for spam or abuse.
If you previously logged in with your Facebook account and choose to log out of Facebook instead of merging your Facebook and Oculus accounts, we will keep data from your use of social features for 90 days. If you then log back into the Oculus platform with your Facebook account within 90 days of logging out, you will be able to restore information about your use of social features.
If you choose not to merge your Oculus and Facebook accounts:
If you log in to your device with a Facebook account: