Oculus Parties on Quest

Please note: to use this feature you’ll need to be logged into Oculus with Facebook.

Oculus parties allow you to hang out and chat with friends in VR. A party can either be public or private.

Private Parties

A private party is a voice over IP (VOIP) call made to people you’re already friends with, or friends of other party invitees. You can set who is allowed in your party by selecting and choosing either invite only or friends of invitees. Private parties can be launched from your friends screen, from Messenger in VR, or from within an app that supports parties.

Public Parties

A public party is a voice over IP (VOIP) call that can be discovered by people outside of your Oculus friends list. Public parties allow you to explore experiences or play games with other people in-VR, and can be launched from your home feed, or from within an app that supports public parties.

Parties Controls

When you're in a party, you'll see an active call bar at the bottom of the Universal Menu toolbar:

  • Connection status

    • Connecting

    • Reconnecting

    • Not connected

  • Party leader's name

  • Number of people in the party

  • Party volume

    • You can adjust the volume of your party chat by selecting the and adjusting the volume slider.

  • Chat optionsYou can switch between party chat and in-app chat (if available) by selecting .

  • Mic options You can mute or unmute your mic by selecting

  • Leave party You can leave the party you're in by selecting .

Was this answer helpful?

The maximum number of people in a party depends on the app or experience. For example, if a game you want to play has a cap of 4, then your party can have up to 4 people.

If the app or experience does not have a limit, you can have up to 8 people in your party.

Was this answer helpful?

To create a party:

  1. Select People from your Universal Menu.

  2. Select Create Party.

By default, your Oculus friends can see and join your party. You can change your party access settings from the party panel after you’ve created your party.

To change your party's access settings:

  1. From your party panel, select to open the Party Access menu.

  2. From the Party Access menu, you can adjust the following settings:

    • Friends can join this party without an invite

    • Anyone with the link can join this party

  3. When you're finished, select Done.

To join a party with friends:

  1. On the right of your home feed, select someone under Friends whose status shows as In a Party.

  2. Select Join Party.

You can also join a party with an invitation sent through Messenger from someone in the party.

Was this answer helpful?

There are two ways to use apps with the people in your party.

Travel together with your party to an app

Apps that let you travel together with your party members will appear in your home feed. To travel together with your party:

  1. From your home feed, scroll down to Create a new Public Party and choose one of the available apps.

  2. Select Start Party.

  3. You can adjust your party settings after you’ve created your party from the party panel.

Please note, parties that start from your home feed will default to public, but can be changed using the privacy settings in the party panel. Learn more about party privacy settings.

Invite your party to meet you in an app

If you don’t have all your party members ready to go ahead of time you can invite others to meet you at a joinable destination within an app. A joinable destination is like a VR lobby or waiting room where you can hang out until the rest of your party joins you.

To invite your party members to travel to a joinable destination:

  1. Launch an app that has a joinable destination.

  2. Pause the app by pressing the oculus button on your right touch controller.

  3. From the pause menu, select Invite and follow the onscreen prompts to allow others to join your party.

Keep in mind, you can leave the joinable destination before your entire party arrives, however if someone from your party wants to join you after you’ve left, you’ll need to return to the joinable destination to meet your party member.

Was this answer helpful?

If you’re traveling together with your party, everyone will need to have the app downloaded to their headset.

  • If a friend in your party doesn’t have the app, they will be taken to the Oculus store page to download it.

  • If you are hosting a public party, people you aren’t already friends with won’t be able to join a party for an app they don’t already own.

If you’re launching an app and having your party meet you at a joinable destination, everyone who has the app will be able to join you.

  • If a friend in your party doesn’t have the app, they can either download the app and meet the party in the joinable location, or stay on the call with the other party members without using the app.

  • If you are hosting a public party, people you aren’t already friends with won’t be able to join a public party for an app they don’t already own.

Was this answer helpful?

You can control who can see or join your party by adjusting the party’s access settings. By default, when you start a party, your Oculus friends can see and join your party, and party members can invite others using the party link.

To change your party's access settings:

  1. Start a party.

  2. From your party panel, select to open the Party Access menu.

  3. From the Party Access menu, you can adjust the following settings:

    • Friends can join this party without an invite

    • Anyone with the link can join this party

  4. When you're finished, select Done.

Was this answer helpful?

You can review the chart below to see party settings and who can adjust them.

Party LeaderParty Member
Manage party volume X X
Report party member X X
Block party member X X
Remove party member (public only) X
Set party privacy X
Setup Travel Together App Launch X
Was this answer helpful?

We want to create a safe and respectful VR environment for everyone in our community. If someone in your party is making you feel uncomfortable, you can select next to their profile picture and choose from the following options:

Block User

Blocking a member of your party will hide your information (profile, name etc) and will prevent the user from seeing any future public parties that you create in their explore feed. It will not remove the user from the current party.

Keep in mind, someone who you’ve blocked can join a public party if another party member invites them back, or if they’re already friends with another party member and join through that person’s profile card.

To avoid having a blocked user rejoin your current party, in addition to blocking them, select Remove User to remove them from your current party.

Report User

Reporting a member of your party will allow you to create a report explaining what happened in your Public Party. The report will be sent to our operations team for review.

When you submit your report you’ll get an email acknowledging that the report has been received. If the operations team determines that the actions detailed in your report violated the Community Standards or Conduct in VR Policy, you’ll get another email to let you know that your report has been actioned on.

After you send your report, you can also choose to block the party member, and/or remove them from the current party.

Remove User (public party only)

Removing a member of your party will remove the person from the current public party. Removed party members will not be able to return to the same party.

Was this answer helpful?