How to block or unblock someone in the Oculus app

When you block someone in the Oculus app, they won’t be able to see your info or activity. Blocking a friend will also remove them from your friend list on all your Oculus devices.

Oculus Quest 2 and Quest
To block someone you’ve friended using the Oculus app on your phone:
  1. 1.
    Open the Oculus app on your phone.
  2. 2.
    Tap Social from the bottom menu and then tap next to the person you want to block.
  3. 3.
    Tap Block to block that person, then tap Block to confirm.
To unblock someone using the Oculus app on your phone:
  1. 1.
    Open the Oculus app on your phone.
  2. 2.
    Tap your profile picture in the top left.
  3. 3.
    Tap Privacy Settings.
  4. 4.
    Tap List of users below Blocked Users.
  5. 5.
    Tap the person you want to unblock and then confirm that you want to unblock that person.
Note: If you unblock a friend, you’ll need to add them again to see them on your friend list.

Oculus Rift S and Rift
To block someone you’ve friended using the Oculus app on your PC computer:
  1. 1.
    Open the Oculus app on your computer.
  2. 2.
    Select Friends from the bottom left menu.
  3. 3.
    Click next to the name of the person you want to block, then click Block.
To unblock someone using the Oculus app on your computer:
  1. 1.
    Open the Oculus app on your computer.
  2. 2.
    Select Settings in the left menu.
  3. 3.
    Select the Privacy tab.
  4. 4.
    Click Block List and then click Unblock next to the person you want to unblock.
Note: If you unblock a friend, you’ll need to add them again to see them on your friend list.

Was this answer helpful?


Need more help

Tell us more about your device and issue and we'll find the best support options.