Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What is Horizon Worlds?
A: Horizon Worlds is a social experience where you can explore, play, and create worlds.
Q: What data is being shared about my activity in Horizon Worlds with Facebook?
A: Horizon Worlds is a Facebook product that requires people to log in with their Facebook account. You can read more in the Supplemental Beta Horizon Worlds Terms of Service and Supplemental Beta Horizon Worlds Data Policy.
Q: Does my use of Horizon impact the ads I see across Facebook products?
A: Horizon Worlds is a Facebook product and people log into it with Facebook, so Facebook may use information about your use of Horizon Worlds to provide you with more personalized ads.
Q: Are you recording what’s happening in Horizon Worlds?
A: When you submit a report, you will be able to include captured information from what happened in the past. Your Oculus headset will be capturing the last few minutes of your experience in Horizon Worlds through a rolling buffer that’s processed locally on your device and is overwritten over time. Captured audio data from this rolling buffer is not stored on our servers unless a report is submitted, but we may store other data about your experience in Horizon Worlds in accordance with the Supplemental Beta Horizon Worlds Terms of Service. When you submit a report, we’ll use the information you send us to take appropriate action and then delete the recordings.
Q: How are you going to prevent harassment in Horizon Worlds?
A: In Horizon Worlds, we know it’s important for you to feel safe and in control of your experience and surroundings. So we’re building features into the product that give people choices, including:
  • A Safe Zone button that lets you take a break from your surroundings.
  • The ability to block and mute people.
  • The ability to report people or content.
  • Personal boundary so other players can’t get too close.
  • Trained safety specialists who can monitor and record harmful conduct as it happens.
  • When you submit a report, it will include the last few minutes of your experience. This recording is being captured by your Oculus headset on a rolling basis, so it's simpler to include evidence of what happened in the past.
Q: What information is visible to other people in Horizon Worlds when I use the product?
A: Horizon Worlds is a public space, so when you interact with other people in Horizon Worlds, you can be seen just as you would be in a real-world public space. Your Horizon Worlds profile information (which includes details like your username, avatar, and your mutual Oculus friends who also play Horizon Worlds) is always available to other people in Horizon Worlds. This means your avatar may appear in photos, recordings, or livestreams that other people in Horizon Worlds capture and share.

Was this answer helpful?


Need more help

Tell us more about your device and issue and we'll find the best support options.